To blog or not to blog

I’ve been blogging on and off (mostly on) since March of 2007.  At that time, I had been doing a fair bit of traveling and wanted to keep friends and family updated. My niece Sarah was living in Zambia at the time and I was following her blog with interest. I reasoned that if she could do it, I could do it, so I started to write on Blogspot and sent an email with the link to folks who might be interested. Truth be told, I was too lazy to write update emails to everyone. You can check out the old stuff here. There’s cool stuff there like Hal’s and My Excellent Motorcycle Adventure to the New Orleans Jazz Fest and the Baja Ha Ha sailing trip from San Diego to Cabo with Bob and Phyllis. There are the usual political rants, book reviews, and dog pictures. Even some stuff about old girlfriends and friend-Megan before we got serious.

Looking back, I think I blogged for the same reason that people keep diaries. It was more for me than for my readers. Most of the time I’d get 10-20 views a day. My biggest day ever was 180! So this is not something I used to hone my writing skills with the view to become a paid pundit. YOU TOO CAN MAKE TENS OF DOLLARS WRITING ON THE INTERNET!!! It was something I did to reflect on what I’d done or to expand on random thoughts I’d had. It was a way to document and refine arguments I’d made with facts and figures rather than off-the-top-of-my-head facts and gut-feels.

So after writing only a couple or three posts in as many months, I think I’m ready to get back in the saddle. It will be more of the same. Personal thoughts, grandbaby pictures, dog pictures, political arguments, book and movie reviews, beer and food and more.

2015 is shaping up to be a good year, so I will try to be a bit more disciplined about posting, aiming for two to three posts per week. We’ll see how it goes.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment