And now for something totally non-political

As some of you know, I spent a good chunk of the time between Labor Day and Thanksgiving Day exercising long-dormant brain cells while taking classes to get my Merchant Mariner Credentials. Well, all that hard work (and yes, it was hard work) has come to fruition. Look what I received in the mail today!

cccredentials0001

It’s just like another passport.

cccredentials0002

Yeah, I know I look like crap, but isn’t that traditional for passport photos?

cccredentials0003

And no, I don’t know what a wiper is. But I do seem to be missing one of the credentials I applied for, a Near Coastal OUPV endorsement. (That endorsement would allow me to do coastal boat deliveries or charters within 100 miles of shore.) I emailed the Coast Guard tonight and will follow up by phone tomorrow. The Coast Guard is actually one of the easiest Federal agencies I’ve ever dealt with (really!). Live bodies answer the phone, and they deal with whatever issue in a timely manner.

And no, I don’t know exactly what I’m going to do with this credential. It would allow me to do boat deliveries; work on commercial boats; take people out on Rinpoche and charge them for the service, or even drive The Duck. Who knows? I don’t want a full-time job, but an interesting part-time job on the water could be fun.

Watch this space.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to And now for something totally non-political

  1. John Tansley says:

    congratulations Walt. (I wonder if you want to post all that personal information on line though?)

Leave a Reply

